lori

Love That Boy – Complete Poem November 15, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — loribailey @ 7:31 pm

Finally – the complete poem, Love That Boy by Walter Dean Myers.  Many thanks to Astrid for supplying stanzas 2-4! Here it is in its wonderful entirety:

Love that boy,
like a rabbit loves to run
I said I love that boy
like a rabbit loves to run
Love to call him in the morning
love to call him
"Hey there, son!"

He walk like his Grandpa,
Grins like his Uncle Ben.
I said he walk like his Grandpa,
And grins like his Uncle Ben.
Grins when he’s happy,
When he sad, he grins again.

His mama like to hold him,
Like to feed him cherry pie.
I said his mama like to hold him.
Like to feed him that cherry pie.
She can have him now,
I’ll get him by and by

He got long roads to walk down
Before the setting sun.
I said he got a long, long road to walk down
Before the setting sun.
He’ll be a long stride walker,
And a good man before he done.

 

88 Responses to “Love That Boy – Complete Poem”

  1. Ella Says:

    I also found this poem when I was reading “Love that dog” by Sharon Creech. I really like it

  2. CFalcoff Says:

    Thanks so much for providing this poem. I am teaching poetry using Sharon Creech’s book LOVE THAT DOG and looked “everywhere” for the complete poem. Thanks to you I can now share it with my classes.

  3. Mrs. Hume Says:

    I am a third grade teacher. Each year, I use Sharon Creech’s book Love That Dog, to introduce poetry to my students. We learn about the poet Walter Dean Myers and write lots of original poetry thanks to his inspiration and that which they get from reading Sharon’s book, too. Before I read the complete poem, I detected a bit of southern charm in his first stanza and have always used that voice in reading it to my class. Come to find out, there is a southern sound to the rest of the poem. It provides many opportunities for students to examine dialect, grammar and content. When I ask them who they think may be narrating this poem, they suggest a variety of voices, from Walter, to God to even the boy’s future friends or college or job, etc.
    It is a great poem and I thank you for the privilege to use it in my classroom each year. We make a book of Love That ______ for the kids to insert their own ideas. Really a wonderful activity!

  4. kathi c Says:

    WOW! i have HAD this book Love That Dog for a year and finally read it. i was just so touched adn amazed. i ended up crying in front of my students. some of them did as well. what a great book to start a poetry unit with. i just love it! and recommend it to all ages…….

  5. Heidi Jones Says:

    We are fourth graders reading Love That Dog by Sharon Creech. We have been inspired by all the good poems in the book. We think maybe Shanron Creech titled her book after the poem. That’s it.

  6. yo mom Says:

    i read the book love that dog by sharon creech. i think sharon read the poems she mentioned and wrote poems, as jack, copying the style. my teachercried when she read it aloud.

  7. Justine Says:

    Love That Dog is one of my favorite books in the world! I’m a freshman in high school and read it for the first time this year. Wow, I was amazed by how I had missed it all my life, it is so powerful and touching. I have to admit, I cried the first time I read it, so did my mom.

  8. Garrett Says:

    I just read the book Love that Dog by Sharon Creech and found it was so touching that I had to find out the rest of that poem, so, doing an internet search, I found this wonderful poem written by Walter Dean Myers and I think that this poem is sincerely beautiful. Thanks SO much Astrid!

  9. Josh Wolenec Says:

    This poem is BORING but its ok

  10. Dylan Cudo Says:

    I am in 6th grade and we read this poem and i liked it because it just repeated it over and over.

  11. Anonymous Says:

    This poem is different from any poem I have ever read.

  12. morgan t Says:

    I thought it was very touching and told the truth about loving a little boy

  13. Amanda Says:

    I think the poem showed the real love between many generations of family.

  14. Shelby Boullion Says:

    *I think your poem was nice mostly because you kept it short and did well with your wording*

  15. Amanda Says:

    I think the poem showed the real love between many generations of family.

  16. Brandon Says:

    I love this poem because it compares two different thing and is a great poem to read I’m in 6th grade

  17. Alicia and Juliana Says:

    my daughter and I just listened to a wonderful audio recording of Sharon Creech’s Love that Dog. then we bought the book at her school book fair. When we finished reading it together she asked me what first stanza meant after WAlter Dean Myers poem that is in the back “love that boy” which led me to this page – looking for the whole thing for her. She’ll be very excited tomorrow morning!

  18. Michele Says:

    Love That Dog by Sharon Creech is my favorite book! its so beautiful and touching. its also very sad.

  19. Dell Says:

    I teach fourth grade, and have been doing poetry with my Guided Reading group off and on since the beginning of the year. I’m about to use Love That Dog with my students, and am looking for any ideas from teachers who have used it in the past. (I love the book, and I’m sure my students will!)

  20. gray Says:

    i LOVE the book “love that dog”!!!!!!!!!!!! i’m only 10 and i love it!!!!!!!!!!!

  21. yo Says:

    I LOVE IT!

  22. Amy Hicks Says:

    I read Love That Dog for the first time while my students were at resource. It was recommended to me by another third grade teacher. It is one of the most touching books that I have read. Unique perspective and message to all ages. I have read it to my third grade class each year since then. I bring in donuts and I read the book to them as they cuddle with their favorite blanket or pillow. Every year I have a hard time holding back the tears too. I always think – Wouldn’t it be cool if Sharon Creech could one day be a part of my class reading?

  23. Anonymous Says:

    when I was reading Love that dog with Miss Trance(my teacher) it was soooooooooooooooooooooooo good I never want to stop reading it, but when I become a teacher I am going to read to my class to just like Miss Trance did to our class!*-

  24. Nicole Richardson Says:

    when I was Read LOVE THAT DOG with my teacher Miss Trance I absoulutly LOVED IT and if you reading this miss Trance than your the best teacher ever EVER EVER EVER EVER!!!!!

  25. Nicole Richardson Says:

    when I was Reading LOVE THAT DOG with my teacher Miss Trance I absoulutly LOVED IT and if you reading this miss Trance than your the best teacher ever EVER EVER EVER EVER!!!!!

  26. Nicole Richardson Says:

    when I was Reading LOVE THAT DOG with my teacher Miss Trance I absoulutly LOVED IT and if you reading this miss Trance than your the best teacher ever EVER EVER EVER EVER!!!!!

  27. Book Club Says:

    We the positive half of the Book Club of an anonymous American school in Africa think that this book is cleverly written, a good length, and very interesting.
    We the negative half of the same club think that the book is too repetitive, way too easy, and is unique in a very WEIRD way.

  28. kristy perry Says:

    i loved that poem
    it reminds me of so many thing
    and i think it means so much.

  29. Jason Rabahieh Says:

    i absolutely loved this poem. it also gave me an a+ in my poem report. this means a lot to me and i would try to buy this poem :)

  30. Vivianna Lawrence Says:

    We were reading this poem in class, and our assignment was to write a poem inspired by “Love That Boy.” I had a good time, because it sounds so honest and loving. The poem was a little bit repetitive, but I didn’t really mind.

  31. Marina Campbell Says:

    My teacher read love that dog by sharon creech to our class, and she started crying and some of us did too. After reading love that dog i decided to look up all of love that boy, and i LOVE IT!!! I hope you do too!

  32. Nancy Piccione Says:

    I have been using “Love that Dog” by Sharon Creech with a third grade group. It has been so wonderful! They are truly motivated to learn about poetry and write their own as well. The group surprised me one day with a skit they wrote independently about Jack and his development as a poet! I was thrilled! Sharon Ceech’s book and all the poetry involved has become a touchstone text for me, such a strong springboard into the world of poetry!

  33. Chelsea Says:

    My teacher read us the book Love that dog in class and I cried. Our teacher wrote a poem for us called Love those students and now I am writing a poem called Love that teacher. It took me forever to find the full poem instead of just the first stanza and I thank you very much for taking the time to get the whole poem.

  34. Madeleine Carr Says:

    I first heard of Walter Dean Myers when I read ‘Love that Dog’ by Sharon Creech and I loved it. this is really cool!

  35. Kristyna Hutchins Says:

    i just finnished love that dog. i almost cried. i never cry when i’m reading books. i have a dog. i hope it doesn’t get squashed by a blue mud splattered car.

  36. amanda Says:

    i love LOVE THAT DOG!it’s one of the best books she’s ever written!

  37. monkeycrazy!nandita! Says:

    i heart this poem ! :-)

  38. gaby m Says:

    i happen to love this poem. it reminds me of ‘love that dog’ a book that did nothing but made me want to read more.

    i am 12 years old, in the seventh grade. i did a book report of this in the fifth grade.

    this book is such an inspiration.
    and inspiration inspired by the poem
    love that boy.

  39. some dude Says:

    hi

  40. Lisa Zacharias Says:

    I love it!!! it’s very good i could never think of this!!!! its just VERY good i belive……. who wrote it???

  41. Connor Says:

    My classmates and I read the book “Love That Dog” by Sharon Creech. It was a great book to read. If anyone reading this i s looking for a new book, I highly suggest this book. This book shows Poetry at its best. It is a great learning book for students and adults alike. Like I said, I highly suggest this book.

  42. wazzup Says:

    I love it! :-P :-D :-

  43. nooh Says:

    This can suck more

  44. cookie Says:

    i have been looking for the complete one ever since i read love that dog

  45. Ashley Says:

    u realley stinck at witing poems

  46. William Says:

    This is the only place i could find the whole poem;
    thanks.

  47. William Says:

    and this poem doesnt stink

  48. William Says:

    @=)
    (Elvis)

  49. marly Says:

    i love this this book love that boy and love that dog and i hate that cat the yellow dog o you can see it one day

  50. Zin Says:

    I am a third grade teacher and I just shared the first stanza that was in the book “Love That Dog’. I am preganant with a son and when I read that poem to my students, I cried! So glad I found the rest of the poem- I am placing it in our son’s nursery.

  51. Student Says:

    Love That Girl
    (Inspired by Walter Dean Myers)

    I Love that Girl,
    like a pig loves mud.
    I said I love that girl,
    like a pig loves mud.
    Love to tell her all my secrets.
    Love to tell her,
    “Hey there Bud!”

    We talk all day,
    we talk all night.
    I said we talk all day,
    we talk all night.
    Were two of the same,
    and that’s alright!

    Plans for the future,
    plans for now.
    I said plans for the future,
    plans for now.
    “Let’s hang out tomorrow!”
    “We’re in Spain! Chao!”

    We’ll be best friends until
    the very end.
    I said we’ll be best friends until
    the very end.
    Loving life to the fullest,
    as it’s always been!

    I love “Love that Boy” and was inspired to write this for my best friend!

  52. hector Says:

    I really liked this book because of the way Jack learns to like poetry

  53. melissa Says:

    Love that Dog is a delightful book to read, Love that Boy and all the poems give you a message.

  54. alejandra Says:

    Love that Boy is a great poem and My Sky has so much of it, love it!

  55. Everlyn Says:

    Love that dog is a hilarious book i really like it and my classmates too.
    Make more poems Walter Dean Myers!!!

  56. Sheryl, Ying Xin Says:

    it rocks manzzzzzz!!!!! :D
    this year was the first time we were exposed to reading ‘love that boy’ this poem. We liked it very much because the words used were really suitable for the poem and really helps us understand what the boy’s character was. It is very touching and meaningful. :D

  57. mr g's class Says:

    Like the group from Africa, my ESL class in Virginia has 2 different views on the book, a negative view and a positive view.
    The negative side says that the book is boring. It does not sound like a story. It does not make sense. There are no real sentences. It is repetitive and too easy.
    The positive side says that the book is creative. It is interesting and tells a nice story. It teaches a lesson and is very touching. Also, there are great poems in the back.

  58. evellyn da silva Says:

    love that dog is a fabulous book.my teacher read this book to us and used it to introduce poetry to our class.i love all of the poems in the book.i really liked the one that usedMr.Walter Dean Myers words.i loved thet book haha.

  59. i am reading love that dog in school

  60. sina Says:

    heloo im sina iz iran/shiraz sen 20 tel:09361561617

  61. Thank you for providing this. I’m trying to write a Love That Dog-esque poem about my dog who died recently, and I needed to find the original poem.

  62. I wrote a love that in school !!!!

  63. John Says:

    I am in 7th grade and we already read Love That Dog and Hate That Cat and i really loved all of the poems in this book. I have a class assignment where i have to memorize two of the poems in that book and i have chosen The Red Wheel Barrow and Love That Boy.

  64. alexis Says:

    my teacher is micheal lumley she introduced love that dog by sharon creech i cant stop reading it right now she is reading hate that cat by sharon creech so far i love it

  65. alexis Says:

    my teacher is mrs.lumley she introduced love that dog to me by sharon creech now i cant quite reading it she is reading hate that cat by sharon creech so far i love it i thank her so much for reading them books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  66. Nora Madden Says:

    That is AWSOME

  67. lala Says:

    i love this poem because it is a really good poem for kids to read everyday i am going to read it in my Assembly…

  68. lala Says:

    if you love it say happy.

  69. lala Says:

    do you like nit yes or no but i love it so much.

  70. lala Says:

    my teacher love it so much all my call …..

  71. lala Says:

    i love that boy how ever he is
    love the way he runs
    when he is happy he makes me happy to
    love that boy how ever he is …

  72. travis Says:

    i love this poem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    love dat dog is a wonderful book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  73. jessi Says:

    i love my class dose too!!

  74. Lynn Denney Says:

    I said I love that poem like a kid likes to talk. I said I love that poem like a kid loves to talk…

  75. BlackPEP Says:

    Come to nextgenhabbo.com !!!!!

  76. Riley Says:

    I also spoted this poem found in Love That Dog!

  77. Jordan Says:

    This is a very nice poem and I think Walter Dean Myers did a great job. It being mentioned in Love That Dog,he should be proud.

  78. Harlee Says:

    You know, there is a sequel to Love That Dog called Hate That Cat.

  79. Lex lex Says:

    I love the poem but the first stanza is the best part I made mine on a bunny it’s cute at the end I say hey there, bun! Lol thnx I heard it in love that dog and hate that cat

  80. Jenna s Says:

    Love that dog. Read it. Fantastic book.

  81. Tween 101 Says:

    Reblogged this on Lich Loons and commented:
    Love this poem

  82. Jake Says:

    love that dog is the best book EVER!!!

  83. David Says:

    yo yo yo


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.